Grace Memorial Church is an Episcopal church that is a member of the Episcopal Diocese of Maryland. The Episcopal Church of the United States was established by formerly Church of England parishes following the Revolutionary War.
Grace began its life as a part of Deer Creek Parish, a geographic designation of the Episcopal Diocese of Maryland. Grace Memorial erected its first building on this land in 1872. It was wood frame and would soon be replaced by a larger, stone building in 1877. The stone church building erected in Darlington in 1876/77 is noted for its classic English style and construction from locally quarried green soapstone.
The original wood frame construction, noted for its lovely country neo-gothic style, was moved to Street, Maryland, where it became the second Episcopal church of Deer Creek Parish. The Church of the Ascension has been worshipping in that space since 1882 and is a small though vibrant parish.
Grace is a proud member of the Darlington community and location of several significant community programs. The Wilson Ministry Center, housed in a separate building consists of the Twice Blessed Thrift Shop and the Get There Ride Share transportation service for senior citizens in Harford and Cecil County. Members of Grace and members of the Darlington community provide volunteer support for the thrift shop, ride service and a monthly food distribution program. The thrift store houses an emergency food cupboard that is open during thrift shop hours.
Grace also hosts a monthly coffee house, featuring touring folk musicians and funded by the Arts Council of Maryland.
The time that members and friends spend together enjoying each other’s company as they minister to the Darlington community is a hallmark of life at Grace Memorial.